plateau

Scattered thoughts

It’s been two and a half weeks since the semester ended and I’m well into my summer break, which so far has included me trying to get back on track with exercise (signed myself up for the StanChart 10km again, so there’s that), trying to read more, and trying to cure myself of this nasal congestion that has plagued me since last week. I really fall sick too easily.

On running: I don’t know why but I can run longer and further on the road then on the treadmill, which I thought would be vice versa. Even Google tells me that running on the treadmill is easier, but I suppose everyone’s body is wired differently. Or maybe because it is so much easier to slow down your pace when you are on the road, compared to manually jabbing the treadmill button and feeling depressed when you have to go down from a 8.7 to 8.3 thinking you are a freaking loser.

I also feel like going out for a run but the sky looks overcast but maybe I’m just creating excuses for myself LOL.

On reading: I’ve been contemplating to put a reservation on Bad Feminist (which I really want to read) at the library, but that would mean a $1.88 reservation fee that I am stingy to part. Then again, this is still cheaper than buying the actual book. Putting that on hold, I’m currently reading Lenin’s Kisses by Yan Lianke. I’m only about 50 pages in, but so far it looks promising. It’s about a rural village in China and how one particular official decides to use the villagers to raise money to buy Lenin’s embalmed corpse to become a tourist attraction. So far my favourite character has to be Grandma Mao Zhi, where this particular bit just killed me:

And the winter that the government tried to make everyone in Liven pay two pounds of cotton in taxes, wasn’t it Grandma Mao Zhi who’d removed her cotton jacket and thrown it in their faces and then, standing before them with her sagging breasts, demanded indignantly, “Is this enough? If not, I’ll also take off my pants,” and before they could react had begun to unfasten her belts?

The officials had exclaimed, “Grandma Mao Zhi, what on earth are you doing?” 

She’d waved her crutch at the. “If you want to collect cotton, I’ll take off my cotton pants right here and now, and hand them to you.”

The officials had dodged her crutches and departed.

Leave a Reply

